You're reading...
food security, Food, glorious food!

Urban Food Study

RMIT (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology)...

Image via Wikipedia

As some of you may know, I am enrolled in a postgraduate study at RMIT in environment and planning. Next to scuba diving, I love food. I am passionate about food and for my thesis I have decided to research into urban food production from an urban design/planning perspective.

My study is about household food security in relation to peak oil and climate change, and the role of urban design/planning in addressing the issue.Β  Part of my study is the empirical research of actual household food production in Greater Melbourne.

I am looking for urban food gardeners to participate in the data collection. The study will be for a period of 12 weeks. Β It does entail measuring the weigh of the produce on a weekly basis. No restriction on size of the plot, it could be a balcony or an allotment.Β  Hydroponic/aquaponic buffs are also welcome to take part – the more diverse the production method, the merrier.

It has to be Melbourne-based and non-commercial in nature. If you are interested, please get in contact with me by leaving a message below.

And if you could kindly spread the word to other urban food gardeners, that would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks! πŸ™‚

A splash of colours for drama in the patch

Sunny side up - a wall of sunflowers for contrast.

About Urban permaculturist

I have an interest in sustainability; from food security to renewable energy. I am also a keen food gardener and vegetarian cook. For more information, check out my blog at: www.platelicking.wordpress.com/

Discussion

19 thoughts on “Urban Food Study

  1. Hi Zainil
    I’m pretty sure you will get study participants on http://www.swapshuffleshare.com spread the word on that site l’m sure people will contact you πŸ™‚
    good luck with it, the results will be a very interesting
    cheers Angie

    Posted by Angie | February 3, 2012, 8:24 pm
  2. Hi,

    I am interested – I am an architect and I am also studying Master of Environment – Major in Sustainable Development at Melbourne Uni. My vegie plot has just been replanted though so it will be a month or so before I get much produce…

    I am reluctant to post my contact details here, is there another way to contact you? I am a member of swapshuffleshare group on fb.

    Belinda

    Posted by Belinda Tsering | February 7, 2012, 9:02 pm
    • Hi Belinda,

      Many thanks for expressing an interest in my research project. Please email me at:z.zainuddin(at)student.rmit.edu.au

      Kindly replace (at) with the ampersand symbol of “@”. And it is also kind of you to mention about the project to your brother.

      I will be in contact soon.

      Cheers – Zainil

      Posted by Urban permaculturist | February 8, 2012, 2:05 pm
  3. My brother is a Landscape Architect – he may know of some other suitable participants…

    Posted by Belinda Tsering | February 7, 2012, 9:03 pm
  4. I could possibly be a contributor. I do produce lots of fruit and veggies at my place, and eggs (2 every day at the moment.)

    Posted by Eileen | February 7, 2012, 9:16 pm
    • Hi Eileen,

      Great! I have too have some chickens and simply love watching their antics in the backyard. I know people are reluctant to leave their email address here. You may email me at: z.zainuddin(at)student.rmit.edu.au Simply substitute (at) with the ampersand “@”.

      And thank you so much for expressing an interest in the research.

      Have a good day – Zainil

      Posted by Urban permaculturist | February 8, 2012, 2:10 pm
  5. Hi Zainil,
    I’d be interested in participating in your study. My household grows a bit of its food in Lalor, one of the outer northern suburbs of Mebourne. Sounds like a great project you’re planning.

    Posted by Lexi | February 7, 2012, 9:33 pm
    • Hi Lexi,

      Thank you for dropping by, and also for expressing an interest in the research. Yes, it is pretty exciting but daunting at the same time by the mammoth task of collecting the data. This platform is not the best for the purpose of maintaining privacy.

      You may email me at: z.zainuddin(at)student.rmit.edu.au Simply substitute (at) with the ampersand β€œ@”.

      I will speak to you at the other end.

      Bye for now – Zainil

      Posted by Urban permaculturist | February 8, 2012, 2:15 pm
  6. Hi Zainil, I saw links to your site via Newport food swap and Swap, Shuffle, Share. I am in Werribee, and happy to participate if you are still looking for urban food gardeners πŸ™‚

    Posted by Elisse | February 7, 2012, 9:36 pm
    • Hi Elisse,

      Yes, I am still looking for participants. I will email you directly. Meanwhile, should you need to get in contact with me, kindly do so at: You may email me at: z.zainuddin(at)student.rmit.edu.au Simply substitute (at) with the ampersand β€œ@”.

      Thank you so much for saying YES to the research. πŸ™‚

      Zainil

      Posted by Urban permaculturist | February 8, 2012, 2:19 pm
  7. Had this passed on via the Newport fruit & veg swap. I’m keen! send me the detaisl – shellyjandrews @ gmail.com

    Posted by Shelly Andrews | February 7, 2012, 9:43 pm
    • Hi Shelly,

      Thank you for your keenness to be involved in the research. I will be in touch soon. And if you need to email me privately, you may do so at: z.zainuddin(at)student.rmit.edu.au Simply substitute (at) with the ampersand β€œ@”.

      Thanks again Shelly!

      Zainil

      Posted by Urban permaculturist | February 8, 2012, 2:23 pm
  8. Happy to get involved
    cheers
    Cate
    Green Renters
    http://www.greenrenters.org
    cate@greenrenters.org

    Posted by Cate | February 7, 2012, 10:01 pm
    • Hi Cate,

      Lovely to see you here. And thank you so much for wanting to get involved.

      I will be emailing you directly about the research and meanwhile should you wish to get in touch with me privately, you may email me at: z.zainuddin(at)student.rmit.edu.au Simply substitute (at) with the ampersand β€œ@”.

      Cheers – Zainil πŸ™‚

      Posted by Urban permaculturist | February 8, 2012, 2:27 pm
  9. Re Urban Food Study

    I would like to participate. I am a professional cook and my garden is all Veg! I believe growing your own is the solution to the forecast population boom

    What can I do?

    Greg from Alphington

    Posted by Greg Payne | February 8, 2012, 11:15 am
    • Hi Greg,

      Thank you so much for wanting to be part of the research. I will email you directly about the research very soon as I still need to fine tune the pre-prepared spreadsheet. Meanwhile should you wish to get in touch with me directly, you may email me at: z.zainuddin(at)student.rmit.edu.au Simply substitute (at) with the ampersand β€œ@”.

      It is encouraging to see so many people interested and enthusiastic about growing their own food – Zainil πŸ™‚

      β€œFood is Power …. Are You in Control of Yours?”
      John Jeavons, American farmer and humanitarian

      Posted by Urban permaculturist | February 8, 2012, 2:39 pm
  10. Would love to help out – you can email me at shanegenziuk@gmail.com, and my blog also features my garden adventures, among other things.

    Posted by shanegenziuk | February 9, 2012, 11:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Member of The Internet Defense League

