You're reading...
Vegetarianism

No bacon, I am vegan

My new cookbook is about to be launched in a few weeks – “No bacon, I am vegan.” I got the idea for the book at a Christmas BBQ in 2006 while still living in Sydney I happened to sit next to a middle-age couple and started talking to them. During the course of the evening I mentioned how much I hate BBQs simply because being a vegetarian I don’t have much of a choice and always leave feeling hungry.

They were curious about my lifestyle choice as one of their sons was seeing a vegan girl and they had no clue what to cook whenever he brings her around for a meal. Being a long time vegetarian their conundrums seem so simple to me and hence the idea for this cookbook.

It has taken three years to write, and another six to seven months for design and photo shooting. During that time I also moved interstate, went back to university and did a postgraduate study in sustainability, and started a community garden where I am currently living. It has been a long haul.

The book is divided into 10 chapters:

  • Chapter 1: Nutritional guide to vegan diet
  • Chapter 2: The vegan pantry
  • Chapter 3: Middles eastern flavours
  • Chapter 4: Chinese flavours
  • Chapter 5: Italian flavours
  • Chapter 6: Indian flavours
  • Chapter 7: South East Asian Flavours
  • Chapter 8: Flavourful BBQs
  • Chapter 9: Flavourful soups
  • Chapter 10: Flavourful desserts

Each chapter has a short introduction to the culinary tradition of the region featured and each recipe is accompanied with handy cooking tips.

Watch this space for further notice.

Cover of "No bacon, I am vegan."


About Urban permaculturist

I have an interest in sustainability; from food security to renewable energy. I am also a keen food gardener and vegetarian cook. For more information, check out my blog at: www.platelicking.wordpress.com/

Discussion

13 thoughts on “No bacon, I am vegan

  1. Congratulations on the launch of your book. I bet its gonna be a big hit.

    Have a great day 🙂

    Love xx Sarah.

    Posted by incandescent Chimera | August 31, 2010, 6:39 pm
    • Thanks Sarah. It will be a few more weeks. It is a lot of work, especially with a cook book due to the photos. It has been fun and as I mentioned in my one of my blog posts, a steep learning curve.

      See you in blogosphere.

      Posted by platelicking | August 31, 2010, 6:54 pm
  2. Congratulations Zainil!

    What an achievement! So exciting!

    WELL DONE!

    emX

    Posted by Emma | August 31, 2010, 7:05 pm
    • Thanks Emma. It is still a few weeks away but I want to start promoting it. And it is going to be an e-book. That way people can print only the recipes they are interested in. And it is exciting.

      How is school with you?

      Cheers – Z

      Posted by platelicking | August 31, 2010, 7:19 pm
  3. makes me hungry to think of it!
    the barbeque chapter will be keenly sought I should think as many must have shared your thoughts on that, and snuck a mars bar on the way home, and now only go to barbies with a pocket full of goodies…just in case!
    may many people share your recipes over the years and make the book an ICON

    Posted by bob | August 31, 2010, 10:12 pm
  4. So proud of you…cant wait to try out your recipes… have some fab memories of meals you have cooked. wish we could have a party to celebrate.

    Hugs
    J

    Posted by jennifer | August 31, 2010, 11:20 pm
  5. Wow, so proud of you Z! Way to go. Congratulations.

    Let us know when we can purchase chapters/the book.

    Cindy
    xo

    Posted by Cindy | September 1, 2010, 5:42 am
  6. Yay, Zainil,

    That’s great news, I love the colours you’ve used too!!

    love to you & Michael
    xx

    Posted by Julie | September 1, 2010, 11:44 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Urban food gardening, vegetarianism and sustainable actioning - January 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

Member of The Internet Defense League

